Create Space to Live and Love

Imagine you’ve just moved into a new one room space. Aside from a bathroom, you only have one room put your stuff and live your life. The size of the room doesn’t matter as much as what you will put in it, or what you won’t put in it. How will you live there?

You have a chance to create space that will impress your friends and family. You can create a space that requires lots of cleaning and up keep or a space that people are afraid to move in, or you can create space to…

  • dance
  • laugh
  • picnic
  • love
  • cuddle
  • breathe
  • stretch
  • think
  • feel
  • be

You can create a space that doesn’t need extra cleaning supplies, hefty insurance policies and needless worrying.

As I have started to empty rooms in our home, I think about how I felt when we first moved in 6 years ago. Once all of our boxes and furniture came in, then we had to go to Target, and Bed Bath and Beyond. We had to spend too much money at home depot. We “needed” a new dining room table that we bought at a very expensive Scandinavian furniture store. And eight even more expensive chairs to match.

We eat less than ten meals a year at that table. Maybe less than five. I walk by the table every day from my bedroom to the kitchen, and it’s a reminder of great change. I still love the table and think it’s beautiful, but laugh at the the thought that I “needed” a dining room table. Why wasn’t the kitchen table enough?

In a few years, or five, when it’s time for us to move, we won’t take the dining room table, or the chairs, or most of our furniture. We also won’t need to run to the store and fill our new space, wherever that may be.

As Mark and I approach our 7th wedding anniversary in May, we are deeper in love and better friends than ever before. It’s a direct result of breaking our attachment to stuff. We don’t spend our weekends at the mall. We don’t have to replace things that aren’t perfect. Our home doesn’t have to look like a spread from any magazine or catalog. We aren’t deep in debt and fighting or worried about money. We aren’t pressured to keep up with anyone. We have the time and space to pay attention to each other and the most important things, right now and in our future.

I didn’t know that would happen when I donated my first box of stuff. I didn’t have the expectation that my life would change so radically with each simple change. Every time I let go, I make room for something new and different. I change a little bit with each goodbye to something I thought I needed. It doesn’t mean that I don’t appreciate beauty, art or even everyday things. It just means that I appreciate things like

  • time
  • space
  • attention
  • laughter
  • connection

… more than stuff and I understand that you have to intentionally create space for these very important things.

It’s fun to think about about moving into an empty space and starting fresh but you don’t have to wait until you move to create space. You can start right now, or next Monday with Tammy Strobel and I. Our first course Create Space begins on Monday, March 19th. For $21 you’ll receive 3 weeks of inspiring, educational material and homework assignments with direct feedback and assistance.

Tammy and I have both experienced the benefits and joy of creating space and are excited to share our lovely lessons with you.

What do you want to make room for in your new space?

Kredit : BeMoreWithLess

My Comment

